top of page
  • Writer's pictureRifftastic

Xilla - Distant Minds 'Album Review'



 

Xilla are a prog rock band from the Uk dropped their debut full length 'Distant Minds' and rifftastic has a chance to sink our teeth in!


I don't even know where to start with this record, Completely stunning musicianship and vocal work creating a unique prog listen which trust me as a prog fan is not a easy feat.

Xilla has so many influences id be here for ages trying to name them all! The album truly is a journey of trial and tribulations but ultimately no matter how much it hurts you can grow from the experiences of life and make a mark on the world, these themes are tackled all the way through the record with tracks like let me breathe, you crawl,catharsis, let it burn,everything at once and reborn etc


The album can go from progtastic rock to full on cheese and pop with catchy hooks and there's moments that remind me of Simply Red, Queen and prince combined with Coheed And cambria but it's as if Pink Floyd and Rush jammed it all....Honestly one of the most interesting albums I have heard in years.

The songwriting is sincere and passionate which helps the listener 'let go' on the journey due to the absolute loveliness of the music, lyrics and messages, my "er but its nut metols" shoulder gremlin was very quiet during, I like to keep it under control.


Big question! Is it original? yes and no. I have heard all these elements before in prog but have I heard it all together work so masterfully? no. Yes seriously, most prog rock bands that blend these really soft extremities and poppy elements just ruin the songs and make it very hard to listen to, whereas Xilla are masters at making it objectively good.

Hats off lads I could show this album to my mom and she would like it, that's a hard feat.


Overview: Progtastic, positive and beautiful! the perfect summer feel good prog record with depth and enthusiasm to get you through the day if you're feeling drained and worn down by life's tribulations.


9/10 RIFFS


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page