top of page
  • Writer's pictureRifftastic

Torqued - Coup De Grace 'EP Review'


I was excited to get my teeth into Torqued's newest release, Coup de Grâce, after having reviewed their RESURGENCE EP in a previous post.

The title and opening track starts with a very cool glitch effect over the guitar, which trips up slightly before rising and kicking into a 90's sounding, Static-x-esque (try saying that 5 times drunk) industrial riff, with all of the groove I'd heard in their previous EP, but somewhat less of the impact and heaviness, I feel. However, the recovers some of this heaviness, and has a rising synth used to create a sense of dread, I really like Torqued's ability to build and create atmosphere with their music, credit to them!

Open Wound I like a lot, I really appreciate the opening, and the bass guitar's moment of light, with a gorgeous deep tone. And when the main riff kicks in, it feels like they're tearing your heart out! I also can't get enough of the vocalist's clean style, and the sense of overwhelming anguish it instills. Also, may it be said, you are in for a treat when you get to the guitar solo. I love this song.

The final song kicks in with insanity, and reminds me a lot of Alkaloid, which is never a bad thing, but doesn't particularly stand out quite as much as I'd like, given that tectonic introduction.

I feel like, overall, this EP lacks some of the flow that I heard from them on RESURGENCE, and I personally prefer the tracks there as well, but that isn't to say that this isn't a solid EP, with some great musical ideas and technique, just a personal preference!

It took a few listens to get into the swing of Coup de Grâce, I'll be honest, but I'm really glad I did because it's a really cool EP and I'll definitely have it floating through my listening rotation every so often.

The track that stands out to me is definitely Open Wound, and I hope to catch Torqued sometime in the next few months so I can see how their material translates to the stage!

7/10 RIFFS




~ Char

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page