top of page
  • Writer's pictureRifftastic

Scimitar Interview


Here at Rifftastic we have many EPs sent in. We listen to them all, but many of which we cant review because there isn't enough material to prioritise it over an album. But when I heard Scimitars three-track '...Of Blood & Fire', I had to highlight this thrashtastic release in some way. So here's my first band interview, welcome Jonny Gray, the vocalist for Belfasts Scimitar! 


Mike: So how did the band form?

Jonny: Band started back in 2011. It was originally Ryan (Drummer) and (guitarist) John. They knew each other through high school and a previous band together. Myself and (bassist) Chriz were also in school together but never in a band together. It was one night online I seen Ryan's post about looking for a vocalist so I asked if could try out and that my friend Chriz could play bass.


2011, 7 years as a band. No lineup changes?

Since then we have been together with no line up changes. However there was one time that our bassist couldn't make a couple of the shows and we have had John's younger brother fill in, but that was a last minute scenario.


Nice! 7 years with the original lineup is quite an achievement in itself! What are your influences? How would you describe yourselves to our readers?

I'm sure we have got on each others nerves at times, but as a unit we come together! The influences between us all have certainly over the years changed from what they once were, naturally we do develop a taste for different things. At the start we set out a more thrash approach, however we didn't want to go for the whole 'beer-party-thrash'. I guess we have always liked the darker side of things, so the likes of Sodom + Destruction. However like I say it developed into a love for 'Death' and Destroyer666, so i think that is where some of the death metal and black metal influences come through in what we listen to in our spare time. Although if I was describe us to the readers we are nerds! Video-games, comics, movies the whole works, we try not to take it all too seriously, just enjoy the ride.


Is there a particular theme to your music?

It's just usually fast and evil as shit! We always try to keep the thrash element of what we started the band for in our music, I know nowadays we tend to experiment with different styles of black/death metal to be included.


You've notably supported Evile and Power Trip...two of my favourate modern thrash bands!  Plus Sodom too....What is it like playing in front of your peers and influences?

Yes we have! It was a pleasure to play with all these bands. Funny thing is with the Evile gig, we were actually on that bill for 3 years before we played, I think Ol Drake had just left the band so they had to get a replacement, which is understandable. So we didn't mind waiting knowing we had that gig in the bag. 

As for the power trip gig, it's probably one of my favourite gigs to play and they are just a fantastic band, I would certainly like to play with them again. Sodom is the daddy of gigs to date. Just being in the presence of Angelripper...it was surreal as I know he is a massive Motorhead fan as myself, so was good to talk about Motorhead briefly with him.


I really enjoyed your new E.P ‘Of Blood And Fire’, very well produced in the way that I can easily  imagine this ripping live, congratulations on it’s release! You released your debut Album in August last year, do you find this 3-track EP a continuation from that or a glimpse into what’s to come?

Many thanks for the kind words. That's right, in August last year we released our debut album 'Where Darkness Dwells' and I guess it would be a bit of an ongoing sound and idea but i feel we are getting stronger material coming out of us, so hopefully the next album instalment will be us progressing further.


‘Fireborne’ opens with a minute of guitar leads before snapping into no-nonsense thrashing.  It sounds anthemic, like a statement of intent. What inspired this song?

In a way there was a few things that inspired me for this song. Regarding the lyrics I did look towards the 'Targaryens' in the aspect of a family born into the heritage of dragons. I also wanted to incorporate some sort of symbolism, so we could have imagery to go with the track. I think I was listening to Dissection a lot at the time, so may hear a hint of that.


Witching hour is a fun song with some great lyrics and imagery. Do you guys find it more often  the case that lyrical inspiration follows the music or vice versa?

I believe I wrote that in work, I remember looking up on Roald Dahl and his novel  'The BFG' as a line in it saying about the witching hour at 4am when all the nasty creatures coming out. With that image in my head, I obviously twisted it in with some satanic elements. Now the track itself was some of a venom kind of chug to it, [something] straight forward, then the end of it we kranked it up a bit and added the 'Celtic Frost' bit as we like to coin the term.


What inspired Usurper of the throne? The closing riffs are colossal!

I believe Chriz had the idea for this I think he said he got it from Stannis in Game of thrones, so it comes from the happenings in the series. We always wanted a song that continues even as the track ends, almost as if the song is still playing but no one can hear it. We are very pleased with that track.


Have you got many gigs/festivals lined up for the future? 

What we have in the pipeline as of yet, is the 'Full Metal Haggis', which is up north of Scotland, there some great acts playing there! Hellripper, Rabid Bitch Of The North, Disposable and many more. We then have R.O.L.L in Drogheda, with headliners Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons and Coroner, which we are stoked to play. We do have a couple of other things planned but can't say anymore until confirmed.


Thanks for taking the time for this interview! I thought I would close with a lighter question,  whats the weirdest thing you’ve ever seen live?

We have certainly seen some strange things. There was this band that we had played with - Star Sete Sept who are from Japan, they're a two piece on drums and guitar I think, but the girl on guitar when they played had gone into the middle of the floor and starting circling round as if like Homer Simpson running in circles.  


You can download Scimitars 'Of Blood And Fire' EP on bandcamp here!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page