top of page
  • Writer's pictureRifftastic

Interview with Sykelig Englens Jorg Kirby


What's the name of your band/projects? What do they mean and represent to you?

Sykelig Englen (Sickly Angel) is my primary project which is my total catharsis and energy represented in Black Metal form. Åpenbaring (revelation) is more my darker psyche and experiments. Arboretum, Cold Void and Chernobyl Mutation Experiment are all things I do more for fun but every project has an important part in my life.

What inspires you to make the music and who influences that?

For me I find inspiration anywhere; in the beauty of nature, in the ugliness of mankind and human nature, and in the day to day life. My life has had extreme experiences both negative and positive that require extreme music to project and cleanse myself with.

How long have you been making music? and when did you form your bands/projects?

I have been making music since I was about 8, I have formed each band somewhere between then and now usually at intervals when I have more time or need to do something new.

What can you tell me about your instruments/equipment? What made you choose the instruments you have now?

I use a lot of various equipment but my go to arsenal (as mainly a guitarist) is ESP Guitars, Blackstar Amplification, EMG Pickups and a mixed pedalboard of Xvive, Boss, Mooer and MXR! I find this combination makes the tone I envision my music sounding like and have been lucky enough to afford very good music gear!

Do you have any upcoming shows?

Sadly not at the minute, Sykelig Englen is working on this along with the 2nd full length “Hagall” and other musical endeavours!

What are the main themes or topics for most of your songs?

Generally things like death, misanthropy, mortality, human nature, mental health and nature are themes I go with, sometimes combining with history or paganism. I only write music representative of me and what I am experiencing rather than just making songs I know may appeal to the masses, but I think we can say that applies to a lot of the underground.

How has your music evolved since you first began playing?

For sure, I practice mainly guitar, a hell of a lot! I continually try to better myself as a musician and also learn about the subjects I write about and immerse myself in them. I always look into ways to perfect the musical arts!

What has been your biggest challenge as a musician?

My biggest challenge has been fighting mental health over the years, the loss of my father when I was 14 took its toll on me as a person but I did not let it halt my endeavors as an artist. I focus and continually put this negativity into music to make something positive. Sykelig Englen’s debut full length “Hymns of the Dead” was a public release of me facing my demons and the launch show the night it came out was certainly an exorcism for me. But now I have recovered a lot since all this!

What's your ultimate direction for your bands/projects?

My goals are to make as much quality music as I can, I want to leave my legacy in the world of Metal! I want to experience raw art in this form and enjoy myself.

What advice do you have for people who want to form their own bands?

Just do it, there are too many self-doubting people. Learn the instruments, practice, sacrifice things you need to. Follow the goal or another person will do it for you and you will regret not having tried.

How can "fans-to-be" gain access to your music? Do you have a website with sample songs or a demos?

I do indeed, Sykelig Englen music can be found on all digital sites, CD, Vinyl, Cassette etc, we have most social media and our website which has links to all mentioned is here : www.jurgkirby.wix.com/sykeligenglen. This also links to the other bands!

Is there anyone you'd like to acknowledge for offering financial or emotional support during your musicalFendevours?

I sure would! My father bought me up around music and art, and also left me the money to afford the equipment I have when he died. I am ever grateful for this. My family and friends who understand me isolating myself a lot in my younger years to make music! And everyone who has actually checked out the project, wears the merch or even just told a friend!

favorite album/song?

My all time favourite album is: Children Of Bodom - Are You Dead Yet! Has been since I was about 10 (I am 20 now) and probably always will be!

Best sandwich filler?

Oh that has gotta be chicken for me !



Massive thanks to jorg for taking the time reply!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page