top of page
  • Writer's pictureRifftastic

Interview With Stuart From THE CRAWLING


Where did the name The crawling come from? What does it mean and represent to you? 


It actually came from Andy’s (Guitar and Vocals ) Brother Peter, who owns Grindscene Records. I think it was a potential song title for a band that he was in at the time. We really liked it and he wasn’t using it and It really fitted what we were intending to do musically and luckily he was kind enough to let us use it.

To me, our music has always had a real horror movie soundtrack feel and our name reflects that. 


What inspires you to make the music and who influences that music?


An absolute love of what we do, and having the opportunity to play it live is the only inspiration required.  We have been lucky enough to have played some amazing shows and events, and its always great to hear that people are enjoying it. Andy is the creative driving force behind our music, so I suppose its ultimately his influences that shape what we do. He writes the main body of all our songs and will send us mp3’s of his demo’s. That allows myself and Gary (drums) to have our parts written before we get together in the practice room. We then work on it until it feels right, and only when its ready will it be included into our live set.


How long have you been making music? and when did you form your band?


We have all been playing for years. I was in my first serious band, Severance when I was about 18. Andy was in Honey for Christ for years and Gary played Drums in Overoth, and still drums for Zombified. Its been a lifelong passion for us all.


What can you tell me about your instruments/equipment? What made you choose the instruments you have now? Was it cost or was it a style/model/brand/color preference?


This could take a while haha!! I have been through a few rigs before I settled on my current one. We work very hard on our sound and making sure it is as clear and powerful as possible, so how it will work with Andy’s tone is one of my main considerations when deciding what makes it into my setup. Will it compliment our music and how can we use it. I have two basses that I use regularly at the minute. A Warwick Corvette 5 string, and a Schecter Stiletto Stealth 5 string. I use the Warwick for all recording and most live shows, and the Schecter for Flyout shows and as my backup. They are two lovely guitars and really, I'm happy using either live. Both sound huge and I'm happy that I wont need to look any further for the foreseeable future.

Effects wise I  don’t use a lot. I go from the guitar into a Boss TU3 Tuner, then straight into a Darkglass Microtubes B7k Ultra Kraken Edition pedal. The Kraken is an amazing pedal. I need nothing else. The other thing on my pedal board is a Boss RC3 looper pedal that I use as a sampler. Its controlled by a Boss FS6 Footswitch. We play samples between songs to create some sort of atmosphere and this is the perfect setup for that. Amp wise, I use a TC Electronic BH550 head, through a Laney 4x10.


What are the main themes or topics for most of your songs?


We sing about the darker times in people lives. Life changing events and people's ability or inability to deal with these. Everything we sing about comes from personal experience in our own lives and how they have changed and shaped us as people. Life isn’t easy and we all need to develop coping mechanisms to try and make sense of it. 


How has your music evolved since you first began playing?


When we started out with this band we actually had no intention of it going anywhere. I had taken a break, from music to concentrate on some family stuff and had really started to miss it. I had known Andy for years and I knew that HFC hadn’t been active in a while. I gave him a call, really just with a view to getting together a few times a month for a few beers and to jam in a local studio/practice room. We had two other guys on vocals and drums, at the time, and it became evident very quickly that it would become more serious. The other guys didn’t work out and we got Gary on board and Andy took over on vocal duties. Musically we have really grown together and I think our music has really matured over the past 2 years. The Music Andy has written for the new album has really gone to another level.


What has been your biggest challenge as a muscian? Have you been able to overcome that challenge?


Our biggest challenge was finding a time when we were all available for regular rehearsal. We all work full time and challenging shift patterns where an obstacle for a while. Luckily modern technology allows us to practice individually at home and be “ready” for when we could get together in the one room. Our music requires us to be very tight as a band live, in order to carry it off. Any mistakes would be very obvious so the challenge was getting to that level with limited rehearsal time together.


What's your ultimate direction for the crawling?


I think to continue what we are doing, writing and playing good music that people want to hear and that we enjoy. To continue to be able to play with the caliber of bands that we have played with and play shows and festivals where we can play to new people. It's all an amazing experience and I have been able to do some things with The Crawling that I could only have dreamed of when I was starting out. Inferno Festival, Bloodstock and Metaldays to name a few. We also recently played with Satyricon in Dublin which was just fantastic.


What advice do you have for people who want to form their own bands?


Just go ahead and do it!! Enjoyment is the key. Get together with people who want to play similar music and put in the time and effort. Focus on what you want to achieve and see where it will take you. 

11: How can "fans-to-be" gain access to your music? Do you have a website or bandcamp?

 Yeah we have a few outlets, Facebook, Spotify and a pretty active Youtube channel. We also have a Bandcamp page that you can buy our music and merch. Everything is linked from our website www.thecrawlingband.co.uk


Is there anyone you'd like to acknowledge for offering financial or emotional support during your musical endevours? 


Well personally, my wife and kids are a tremendous support to me. Doing the things we do isn’t cheap and it makes a large dent in my holidays from work, but they realize what this all means to me and couldn’t be more encouraging. Andy and Gary are a huge support as well. The amount of work and effort Andy puts into this band is phenomenal, and his enthusiasm for it is an inspiration. On a band level Kerri, from Exposing shadows Photography helps us out a lot. Her photography and video skills are really first class and I think she has really helped us to get out there with the quality of her work. It really stands out. Peter from Grindscene records has been a massive help as well.


Favourite album/song?


I always struggle with this question as there are so many albums that have had an impact on me through the years, but if I had to settle on one it would probably be Wolverine Blues by Entombed. Entombed and Morbid Angel were the fist Death Metal bands I really got into but Wolverine Blues really has everything. 


Best sandwich filler?


Has to be bacon 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page