top of page
  • Writer's pictureRifftastic

Bhàs - 'Self Titled Review


'A Glasgow based extreme metal project, it's influences from black and death metal breathing new life into it's unique sound' As you can imagine the prospect of 'unique sounding' blackened death metal gets me excited, bring it.

      First off the production is distorted and gritty as expected from BM, but I would argue too much of bad production at times, though I understand this is deliberate and is expected of this type of 'Black Metal'. Besides, that the EP is full of intensity and variety of unprocessed raw vocals and riffs that definitely make it stand out from black metal sea of distortion that comes to our shores. There's potential all the way through this but its unapologetic just not conforming to expected standards of production its raw and open making me see it from a different perspective.

      The tones, vocal styles and drums remind me of 'Mayhem`s Deathcrush' album which I am wondering was the goal? A few times I liked what the songs were doing but the production does hinder the potential and keep them at a level that does not surprise me or get me pumped.


Overview: A Unapologetic intense wall of distortion that will have oldschool BM fans having nostalgia trips to the 90`s. 

6/10


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page